intro text

Portway governors and LLT trustees

Our school is part of the Leading Learning Trust.  The trust is a charitable company, limited by guarantee.

The trust has three members, and is governed by a group of eight trustees.  A summary of the skills and experience that our members and trustees bring to their roles is provided in the document to download on this page.  The document also contains photographs of the trustees and members, in oder to ensure that members of our school community and other interested stakeholders can easily identify those tasked with governance of the trust. The Chair and the trustees can all be contacted via the Selwyn Primary School Office.

Details of how our trust is governed, as well as the scheme of delegation (that describes how the trust, the Local Governing Committee and the Executive Head teacher work together to consult, review, approve, recommend, and action the work of the trust and of Portway Primary School) are all provided on the trust documentation page of the Leading Learning Trust website.  The trust has two committees: the FARM (Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee) and the Pay Review Committee (further detail is again available on the trust documentation page).

As part of the Leading Learning Trust, Portway has a LGC (Local Governing Committee).  The way in which this body is involved in the decision making regarding both trust-wide and school matters is detailed in the scheme of delegation referred to above.  A summary of the skills and experience that our local governors bring to their roles is available as a document to download on this page.  A register of business and financial interests is also published as a document to download.  The Portway LGC does not have any designated sub-committees.  However, the Chair may ask groups of people to convene to assist with specific issues from time to time.

The LBC is supported in its duties by Waltham Forest Traded Services.  The team can dbe contacted on 020 8496 6338.   Correspondence for the Chair of Governors should be sent care of Portway Primary School.

The current governors at Portway are listed below.  Where applicable, their relationship to the Leading Learning Trust is specified.

Name Start date End date Other relevant positions
Jennifer Rhodes - Trust Board appointed Governor and Chair 01/05/2016 30/04/2020 None
Scott Chudley - Head teacher 01/09/2019 Ex Officio Head teacher
Airina Narbuntiene - Staff Governor 14/10/2019 13/10/2023 None
Fifelomo Coker - Coopted Governor 14/10/2019 13/10/2023 None
Samiha Chowdhury - Trust Board appointed Governor 06/04/2020 05/04/2024 None
James Johnston - Parent Governor 01/03/2021 28/02/2025 None
Debra Idowu - Trust appointed 01/02/2022 31/01/2026 None
Russell Evans - Parent Governor 01/02/2022 31/01/2026 None


End of term in 2019/2020 - Anisa Hakim - 30 April 2020

Resignations in 2021/22 - James Stokes and Kazi Sultana - October 2021; Amelia Zahra - April 2022

This page was last updated in April 2022.


We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can find out more about the cookies we use or change your browser settings. Otherwise, we'll assume you're ok to continue. Click on our Privacy Notice and our Terms of Use for additional information.