intro text

Term dates

This page was last updated in September 2018 - and it displays the calendar for the current academic year only 

The following table indicates both the term dates and the school and bank holidays for the current academic year 2018/2019.  Each term has been divided into two sections – e.g. ‘Autumn 1’ and ‘Autumn 2’ – which together form the full Autumn term. The half term holiday separates the two parts of the term.

Please note that the school will not close for the following religious holidays: Eid-up-Adha, Diwali, Guru Nanak’s Birthday or Eid-ul-Fitr. If applicable, and if requested in advance, children will be authorised for leave on these days.

Calendar for the academic year 2018/2019 

School Terms

Pupil Holidays

Autumn 1 - Tuesday 4th September 2018  to Friday 19th October 2018

Half term: Monday 22nd October 2018 to Friday 2nd November 2018

Autumn 2 – Monday 5th November 2018 to Friday 21st December 2018

Christmas Holiday: Monday 24th  December 2018 to Friday 4th January 2019

Spring 1 – Monday 7th  January 2019 to Friday 15th February 2019

Half term: Monday 18th February 2019 to Friday 22nd February 2019

Spring 2 – Monday 25th  February 2019 to Friday 5th  April 2019

Spring Break: Monday 8th April 2019 to Friday 19th April 2019

School will be closed for Easter Monday - 22nd April, and will return after the spring break on Tuesday 23rd April 2019

Summer 1 – Tuesday 23rd April 2019 to Friday 24th May 2019

May day: Monday 6th May 2019

Half term: Monday 27th May 2019 to Friday 31st    May 2019

Summer 2 – Monday 3rd June 2019 to Wednesday 24th   July 2019

Summer Break: Thursday 25th July 2019

Attendance and punctuality at school

At Portway, we are committed to raising standards in achievement, attendance and punctuality. Children must be in the playground, lined up with their class and ready to go into their classrooms by 8:45am in order to receive their attendance mark on the register. Every week the class with the best attendance in each key stage wins the attendance trophy.

At the end of the term the class with the overall best attendance wins a class treat such as a workshop or a school trip.

Absence based penalty notices are issued in line with the London Borough of Newham's code of conduct regarding absences from school.

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can find out more about the cookies we use or change your browser settings. Otherwise, we'll assume you're ok to continue. Click on our Privacy Notice and our Terms of Use for additional information.